Trends I don’t “get”: Slip-on Sneakers

I really don’t get the slip-on sneaker trend.

I do not like them with a dress.

Alessandra Ambrosio via Glamour

Alessandra Ambrosio via Glamour

I do not like them with a mess.

Vans DIY Project via A Beautiful Mess

Vans DIY Project via A Beautiful Mess

I do not like them on a twin.

Ashley-Olsen-Denim-Shorts

Ashley Olsen sporting Vans Solid Slip-Ons.

I do not like them with a grin.

Via The Blond Salad

Via The Blond Salad

I do not like them with a bun.

Image via his-and-her.com

Image via his-and-her.com

I do not like them on a run.

Emma Watson via InStyle

Emma Watson via InStyle

I do not like them here or there. I do not like them anywhere!

Ok ok, you get the picture. I just can’t help thinking that they aren’t very feminine. I know sometimes we need comfort over style…but there is a limit.

The Simpsons Kleenex boxes

And get these kleenex boxes off my feet!

Instead, here are 5 classic, casual summer alternatives to slip-on sneaks. Maybe they are not as new and trendy, but they are classic, and you will wear them for more than one season:

1. Superga, Keds, or Toms

Alessandra Ambrosio in Superga

Alessandra Ambrosio in Superga

Taylor Swift in Keds

Taylor Swift in Keds

Jessica Alba in Toms

Jessica Alba in Toms

3. Sperry Topsiders or Sebago

Kate Middelton in Sebago

Kate Middelton in Sebago

3. Oxfords

oxfords Sienna Miller and Olivia Palermo

Sienna Miller and Olivia Palermo

4. Ballet Flats

Zoe Saldana in ballet flats

Zoe Saldana in ballet flats

5. Loafers/moccasins/driving shoes

 

Chiara Ferragni in Tods

Chiara Ferragni in Tods

Zoe Saldana in Tod's Gommino Driver

Zoe Saldana in Tod’s Gommino Driver

That’s my take on it. What do you think?

If you want to see a blogger who does a GREAT job of buying, photographing, and styling her shoes (well, styling her whole life, actually), check out Slava Micic.

“I always choose to walk in good shoes – the feeling of confidence and “I own this” is key. The world is kinder when you approach it with a shiny pair of Miu Miu oxfords.” – Slava Micic

 

Slava Micic, shoes, instagram

via Slava Micic, http://slavamicic.com/

 

4 thoughts on “Trends I don’t “get”: Slip-on Sneakers

  1. I am with you!!

    I want driving shoes (loafers).. one day. In a nude colour maybe. I think they’d be great as an alternative to ballet flats (my go-to flats).

    I also own Converse sneakers… they’re comfy.

    • Geox loafers are a great alternative to Tod’s at a fraction of the price. To be honest, though, I think Tod’s are a splurge that is well worth it. I received a pair from a very eccentric and well-to-do neighbour in 2009 who was cleaning out her closet (I know…I couldn’t believe it either). This will be my 5th summer with them, and they are still the best pair of shoes I have EVER owned, by a long shot. $470 is a LOT of money, but when you consider that you probably buy..what…at least one pair of shoes every season that DON’T have that kind of staying power…it really makes you think.

Leave a Reply

