7 Spring Resolutions

As we head into the second week of April, here are a few liberating ideas that I hope will put a spring back in my step:

1. Cancel gym membership

Image via http://lizbrazier.com/

Image via lizbrazier.com

Yep, that’s right. No more pinning photos of “fitspo” and trying to  pretend that I am ok with interrupting a naked woman I’ve never met before and asking her to please excuse me so I try to jam my winter coat, boots, and gym bag into a tiny locker.

No more trying to shower without touching anything. Or trying to pull on pantyhose while balancing on one leg. No more sharing machines, and over-disinfecting everything.

All winter I did my best to become the type of person who enjoys the gym. I got a new gym bag. I packed up all my favourite beauty products to try to make my post-workout shower (in a cramped stall full of other people’s hair and suds) feel less like prison and more like a fun adventure (it didn’t work). Got new flipflops. Gave myself rewards (like Liquid Nutrition smoothies) everytime I worked out, and treated myself to a pedicure every once in a while to celebrate the fact that I avoided contracting both athletes foot and planters warts (shudder). I downloaded a fun running app, and planned my gym outfits so I could look cute. I did a personal training session. I tried new classes.

All to no avail.

Even Britney’s “Work B**ch” could not keep me from feeling like a hamster trapped in a wheel.

I hate the gym, and I am ok with that. Sorry gym. Its not me, its you. Really.  

2. Exercise 3x week

1381982_584182818285562_295522520_n

via spiritualgangster.com

It may seem counter intuitive to quit the gym and amp up exercise, but its SO. MUCH. EASIER. when the weather is nice. Yoga, running, walking, taking the stairs, getting off the metro a few stops earlier…you name it. Its all baby steps, but it all adds up.

3. Meditate every *&%*ing morning

I am trying  to cultivate a state of mindfulness. I spent my entire Saturday at a meditation retreat, and, lets just say, it was a very restful day. I fell asleep during every single meditation except the ones where we actually had to move (ie. mindful yoga and walking mediation). Its frustrating and challenging, and sometimes I feel like yelling at the top of my lungs, but I’m told that perseverance is the key. We’ll see.

4. Make a budget and STICK TO IT FOR THE LOVE OF GOD

This is one of my biggest challenges. I like things, and I like buying other people things (especially Paddington Bear™ for babyGap  for all of my pregnant friends lately). I have to remember, gifts are nice, but so is buying a house…or retiring one day. Unfortunately, there are a lot of spring clothes hitting the shelves right now, and I would like nothing more than to get a closet-full of pastels in my hot little hands. This month, I am going to give myself a spending budget, and by golly, I am sticking to it. (*Disclaimer: previously paid for basics from Everlane exempted).

5. Start the day off on the right foot

headphones coffee cereal book by Kevin_Morris via Flickr Creative Commons

via flickr.com/photos/kevinpaulmorris/

This includes:

– Wake up earlier than you need, and take a moment to be thankful for all of the positive things in your life

– Listen to great music

– TAKE YOUR VITAMINS

– Eat a delicious, healthy breakfast

– Catch up on the news

– Make a plan for the day. Set achievable goals.

– Add a bit of exercise into your morning routine. This can include simple stretching, yoga, an extended walk with your dog, taking the stairs in your building…anything.

6. STOP procrastinating. NOW.

Get a a grip. Just do it. Eat that Frog. Get ‘er done.

Procrastination is the thief of time, the assassin of opportunity. It makes easy things hard, and hard things hard. And many other assorted cliches. Either way, once you get past procrastination and get sh*t done, everything becomes so much easier.

via ninjandninj on Etsy

via ninjandninj on Etsy

7. Put more effort into your appearance

Looks aren’t everything. But they aren’t nothing either.

makeup Like it or not, your outward appearance is often a reflection of how you feel about yourself on the inside.

I’ve had times when I felt really low, and at that point I slacked on the makeup, threw on my clothes, and just didn’t care much about how I looked.

And, when you do that, it shows.

When you look good, you feel good. And when you feel good, you look good.

It doesn’t have to be a drastic closet overhaul or an expensive new wardrobe.  A few simple, classic, well-planned basics is all you need to get a bit more “polish” to your look.

This means clothes, hair, and personal hygiene (I’m looking at you, chipped finger nails and overgrown eyebrows…)

Here is a little work chic inspiration:

FASHION:

Simple. Clean. Minimal. Easy-to-wear. Chic. Sophisticated. Classy. C’est tout.

The Classy Cubicle

Classy And Fabulous

Pink Peonies

 

white-skinny-jeans-jbrand-nordstrom

via pinkpeonies.com

classy fabulous

via classy-fabulous.com

a zara coated pleated navy midi skirt j crew cream ivory white navy striped silk oxford button dress shirt linea pelle brown cognac caramel wide waist belt gold studs ralph lauren calvin klein white moto l

via classycubicle.com

via classy-fabulous.com

via classy-fabulous.com

MAKE-UP:

Some tips on how to achieve a look that is classy, dewy, fresh and bright:

Fresh and Simple

The Beauty Department

via makeup.com

via makeup.com

HAIR:

A few ideas on how do fix up second-day hair, or deal with a rainy/humid day:

Ten Ways to Dress Up a Ponytail

Messy bun

The side chignon

messybun6

via thesmallthingsblog.com

That’s it for now, I think. What are your spring resolutions?

2 thoughts on “7 Spring Resolutions

    • For awhile I was just going to the YMCA morning yoga classes in Westmount and downtown, but now that I’ve quit, I am also looking for a new studio. I like Studio Breathe on Notre Dame, but its just not convenient for me on weekdays. enso Yoga is a really lovely studio if you are looking for hot yoga downtown, but actually I think my favourite is Sivananda Yoga on St Laurent.

Leave a Reply

